Interplanet Janet is going to be busy.

There is a huge amount of buzz on the Internet today surrounding the IAU’s proposed definition of a “planet.” The definition they chose is exactly what I have for years been expecting them to select once all the dust settles. It is simple and, in my worthless opinion, appropriate.
“A planet is a celestial body that (a) has sufficient mass for its self-gravity to overcome rigid body forces so that it assumes a hydrostatic equilibrium (nearly round) shape, and (b) is in orbit around a star, and is neither a star nor a satellite of a planet.”
If this definition gets accepted by the full assembly next week, then the list of planets in our solar system will extend to include the following (and possibly others as well):
 1. Mercury
 2. Venus
 3. Earth
 4. Mars
 5. Ceres
 6. Jupiter
 7. Saturn
 8. Uranus
 9. Neptune
10. Pluto
11. Charon
12. 2003 UB313 (a.k.a. “Xena”)
This entry was posted in Astronomy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s